Nine of the top 10 women golfers will participate in the CJ Nine Bridges Classic, which will be held starting October 28, 2005

The top women golfers in the world, including Annica Sorenstom, are coming to Jeju to play in the CJ Nine Bridges Classic.
A total of 69 golfers, including the top 50 money winners, 12 Korean and Japanese golfers and 7 others will compete in the 2005 CJ Nine Bridges Classic. They will be competing for a share of the $1.35 million in total prize money. The CJ Nine bridges Classic, which is the only event to be held in Korea on the LGPA tour, will start on October 28, 2005 at the Nine bridges Golf Club on Jeju Island.

Nine out of the top 10 golfers in the LPGA, including “Golf Queen” Annica Sorenstom (Sweden), “America's Pride” Christie Kerr and "Super Lucky" Paula Creamer (USA), are expected to participate. The CJ Nine Bridges Classic is expected to exceed other major championships.

As Korean golfers have won this event in the past including the first winner Se Ri Park (28, CJ), second winner Shi Hyun Ahn (20, Kolon Elord) and third winner Ji Eun Park (26, Nike Golf), many in the Korean gallery are wondering if the best player in the world Sorenstom will be able to maintain her reputation as the undisputed “Queen of Golf.”

Korean golfers such as 'Little Giant' Jeong Jang (25, ranked #5), winner of the Women's British open golf tournament for the first time in 2005, Canada Women's Open winner Mi Na Lee (24, ranked #7), Hee Jung Park(25, CJ, ranked #9) and US Women's Open winner Ju Yeun Kim (24, KTF, ranked #10) will compete and are expected by many to win in their home country.

Many eyes will be on Bo Bae Song from Jeju because she is a 3-time winner of the Korea Lady's Professional Golf Association (KLPGA) events last year. Miss. Song is also the Samsung Ladies Master's champion and Pungyang Women's Open Golf Tournament champion, for 2005. She will have the opportunity to jump onto the world stage of professional ladies golf in her homeland at the CJ Nine Bridges Classic.

For more on South Korea at ITKT